Free automation testing tools split into two things that behave nothing alike: permissively licensed open-source frameworks like Playwright and Selenium, which carry no vendor quota at all, and freemium SaaS platforms like Cypress Cloud, LambdaTest and Sauce Labs, which cap you on monthly test results, parallel sessions, seats and retention. This page audits both categories against each vendor's own pricing and docs pages, dated, so you know which free ride runs out first.
Most "best free testing software" roundups list ten logos and move on. None of them tell you the number that actually matters: how many test runs you get before the meter turns on, or whether there's a meter at all. We went to every vendor's own pricing and docs page today and wrote down exactly what it said, no more, no less. Where a vendor didn't publish a number, we say so instead of guessing.
That distinction is the whole point of this page. Get it wrong and you'll plan a suite around a quota that was never real, or panic about a limit that was never going to bind.
Two categories of "free", and why conflating them costs you
The first category is a test automation framework, open source and permissively licensed, that you install and run yourself: Playwright, Selenium, the open-source Cypress test runner, Appium, Robot Framework. Nobody meters how many times you execute a test; there's no dashboard counting your monthly runs down to zero. The cost is real, it's just not billed by a vendor. You provision the machines, own the parallelism, build your own retention (or don't), and support is whatever the GitHub issue tracker gives you.
The second category is a freemium SaaS product built on top of one of those runners, or a competing closed-source engine: Cypress Cloud, BrowserStack, LambdaTest, Sauce Labs, Katalon, Testsigma, and others like them. Here the quota is real, enforced, and the thing that quietly ends your free ride: monthly test results, concurrent sessions, seats, days of retention. Every one of these numbers is a business decision about when you should start paying, stated (or conspicuously not stated) on that vendor's own site.
A team that treats a SaaS free tier like an OSS library plans a suite it can't run past week three. A team that treats an OSS library like it has hidden vendor limits over-provisions infrastructure it never needed. Getting the category right, tool by tool, is the first decision, and it's the one this page exists to make easy. If you want the full total-cost model with the self-hosted infrastructure priced in, we've built that separately in our test automation total cost of ownership breakdown; this page stays narrowly on the limits.
The cost never disappears, it just moves to a different line item.
The free-tier limits, audited
Here is what each vendor's own pages say today. The open source test tools first, since "vendor quota" doesn't apply to a self-hosted library the way it applies to a SaaS platform.
| Tool | License | Vendor Quota | Support Channel |
|---|---|---|---|
| Playwright | Apache-2.0 | None. Self-hosted | GitHub issues, Discord |
| Selenium | Apache-2.0 | None. Self-hosted | GitHub issues, forum |
| Cypress (OSS runner) | MIT | None. Self-hosted | GitHub issues, Discord |
| Appium | Apache-2.0 | None. Self-hosted | GitHub issues, Slack |
| Robot Framework | Apache-2.0 | None. Self-hosted | GitHub issues, forum |
Now the freemium SaaS layer, where the quota is the product decision that actually governs your runway.
| Tool | Free Quota | Parallel Cap | Retention | Seats |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cypress Cloud | 500 results/month | Included | 30 days | 10 users |
| LambdaTest (now TestMu AI) | 100 min, lifetime total | 1 session | 30 days | Unlimited |
| Sauce Labs | 60 min, 28-day trial | 2 VMs | Not stated (checked Sep 3, 2026) | Unlimited |
| Katalon | 30-day trial; no standalone free plan seen | Not stated | Not stated | 5 seats |
| BrowserStack | No free E2E tier; OSS gets 5 users/parallels | 5 (OSS only) | Not stated | 5 users (OSS) |
| Testsigma | Not verified, client-rendered page (Sep 3, 2026) | n/a | n/a | n/a |
All limits above verified against each vendor's own pricing or docs page on September 3, 2026, except where a cell says otherwise. Free tiers change without notice; verify current limits before committing a suite to one.
A few of those rows deserve a second look before you plan around them. LambdaTest's own pricing page (now branded TestMu AI) states its 100 free minutes are "valid for lifetime," not per month, a one-time allotment that behaves nothing like Cypress Cloud's 500 results resetting every 30 days. Sauce Labs and Katalon both advertise a time-boxed trial rather than a standing free tier: once the 28 or 30 days pass, free access ends regardless of how much quota you used.
BrowserStack earns a specific correction. Its pricing page lists a $0 "Forever Free" plan, but it's scoped to HTTP interception through the Requestly product, not browser automation, so it isn't a substitute for a free Automate or Live tier. Separately, BrowserStack's open-source program grants qualifying projects lifetime access to Automate, Live and Percy with 5 users and 5 parallel sessions: a genuine free tier for this article's tools, gated by eligibility instead of open signup.
Testsigma's row is a different gap, worth naming on its own. Its pricing page renders plans client-side, so a plain fetch returns only navigation and script tags, no plan text, which is why that row reads "not verified" rather than a number. That's not a knock against the product, but it is a signal: a page a script can't read is a page a buyer can't audit without loading a full browser and trusting today's numbers hold in six months. A vendor with static, fetchable free-tier terms hands you a paper trail for free; one that doesn't is asking you to trust a render instead.
A quota that resets and a quota that doesn't are not the same free tier.
Which limit bites first, for which team
A small, stable suite of 20 to 40 checks that changes rarely almost never touches any of these ceilings. Whatever quota a SaaS free tier hands out, a suite that size fits inside it most months, and an OSS runner never had a ceiling to begin with. If that's your whole footprint, the free tier is not a trap, it's just free.
The team adding roughly a flow a week runs into the retention and run-count columns first. Cypress Cloud's 500 monthly results and 30-day retention are generous for a small suite and tight for one growing by dozens of checks a quarter.
The team that needs real CI concurrency, because a 20-minute pipeline now takes 90, hits the parallel-session column first, and hits it hard. One parallel session (LambdaTest's free minutes) or two virtual machines (Sauce Labs' trial) doesn't scale to a CI matrix running a hundred jobs at once: a different problem from running out of monthly minutes, and usually the one that forces the first purchase.
If you're outgrowing one of these specific free tiers, we've written focused breakdowns for the swap: an open-source alternative to BrowserStack, to LambdaTest, to Sauce Labs, to Katalon, and to Testsigma.
The suite that needs parallel CI runs is the one that hits the ceiling first.
How Autonoma fits alongside free tooling
Everything above assumes you already know which flows to test and someone is maintaining the test cases as the product changes. Free and open-source runners don't do either of those things for you: Playwright and Selenium execute exactly the steps you write, and every one of these SaaS platforms grades how well it runs your existing suite, not how the suite gets authored or kept current as the app moves. That gap, not the run-count ceiling, is where most free-tier suites actually die: not from hitting a quota, but from the person who wrote the tests moving to a different project.
Autonoma sits in that gap rather than in the vendor rows above. Our agents read your codebase to plan test cases against the routes and flows that actually exist, run them in a live preview, and sort what comes back into a real bug versus an agent error or a stale test. A Diffs Agent then keeps the suite aligned on every pull request by reading what changed in the code, instead of waiting for someone to notice a test broke. None of that replaces the runner underneath it: point it at a Playwright or Selenium-driven flow and it's still that engine doing the clicking, typing and asserting in the browser. We're the authoring and maintenance layer above the runner, not a twelfth row in the tables above competing on monthly minutes.
That's a genuinely different question from anything in this audit. The tables above tell you how many runs you get before a vendor's meter kicks in. They don't tell you who writes the next fifty test cases as your product grows, or who updates the existing ones when a flow changes shape. If your suite is small and stable, that question barely matters and a free tier is the right call, full stop. If you're the team adding a flow a week, it's the question that determines whether your suite still reflects the product six months from now.
Map that back to the team shapes from the section above and the fit gets concrete rather than abstract. A small stable suite doesn't need this layer any more than it needs a paid SaaS tier: a handful of Playwright checks that rarely change are cheap enough to maintain by hand, free tier or not. The team adding a flow a week is where a Diffs Agent, re-planning and updating tests against every pull request instead of waiting for a person to notice drift, starts to outweigh whatever the free-tier run-count column happens to allow. And the team that already solved parallelism with a paid grid still has the same authoring gap: buying concurrent sessions from a vendor doesn't buy you someone to write and maintain the next fifty test cases as the product changes underneath them.
Autonoma authors and maintains; the free runner still does the clicking.
Where the labour question picks up
Everything in this audit is about the limits a vendor states somewhere you can read it. It doesn't cover the cost that never shows up on a pricing page at all: the hours spent writing the next batch of tests, chasing a flaky selector, or updating a suite after a redesign. That's a real number, and it's usually bigger than any quota in the tables above. We've kept it out of this piece on purpose, because it deserves its own worked model rather than a paragraph tacked onto a limits audit; our breakdown of the hidden costs of free test automation tools picks up exactly where this page stops. If you want to see the two costs combined into one comparison method instead of picking through vendor pages yourself, our flagship tools comparison applies this same disclosed-method approach across the wider field, and Autonoma is one of the entries there, scored the same way as everything else.
For a smaller, adjacent free-tier trap, test case management tools have the same conflation problem as the runners above; we cover that separately in our guide to free test case management tools. And if a "free" tool in your stack turns out to be a no-code SaaS platform rather than a library, our no-code test automation guide is the right place to evaluate it on its own terms.
None of that changes the answer this page owes you about free automation testing tools: check the table above, note the date, and re-check the vendor's own page before you commit a suite to a limit you read here six months from now. Free tiers move, vendors rebrand, and pricing pages get rewritten. This audit is a snapshot, not a promise, which is why every figure above carries a date instead of an open-ended claim.
That's also why a couple of rows above carry a caveat instead of a number. When a vendor's terms live in static text, we can check them the way you can: load the page, read the words, done. When they only render inside a script, checking them means trusting a browser render instead of a document, one that can vary by session or region. We'd rather write "verify current" and link the page than turn something we couldn't read into a number we made up. That gap, checkable versus unverifiable, is worth noticing the next time any vendor tells you what their limits are.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. Playwright is Apache-2.0 licensed and there is no vendor-run cloud service metering how many times you execute a test. The cost you'll actually pay is the infrastructure you run it on and the CI minutes your own pipeline consumes, which is a self-hosted cost, not a quota Playwright's maintainers impose.
It depends on the vendor, and the specifics are usually on the same pricing page as the quota itself. Some platforms block new test results until the next billing cycle, others prompt an upgrade, and a few throttle rather than hard-stop. Check the vendor's own docs for the exact behavior before you plan a release around it, since this detail changes more often than the quota number does.
Often enough that we date every figure in the table above rather than treat it as fixed. Vendors adjust free-tier minutes, seat counts and retention windows as part of normal product changes, sometimes without a changelog entry. Bookmark the vendor's own pricing page, not this article, if you need the current number six months from now.
Yes, and it's a common setup. Many teams write and run tests locally with Playwright or Selenium for free, then point the same test suite at a paid grid like BrowserStack or Sauce Labs only when they need real-device coverage or higher parallelism than their own infrastructure provides. The two categories in this article aren't mutually exclusive.
Autonoma sits above the runner as the planning, execution-orchestration and maintenance layer, by design, using your existing browser automation engine underneath it rather than swapping it out. Teams evaluating free tooling limits are exactly who benefits from adding that layer once the manual authoring and upkeep, not the run quota, becomes the real bottleneck.




